Expertise & Research Centre

Expertise & Research Centres (ERC) are knowledge groups within institutes of higher education that establish connections between education, professional practice and applied research in areas of social relevance. In most cases, an ERC consists of a ‘knowledge circle’: a group of lecturers and lecturer/researchers led by a Professor.

ERCs have several common goals: 

  • Strengthening external orientation
  • Educational reform
  • Professionalisation of lecturers
  • Strengthening knowledge development and knowledge dissemination
     

HAS University of Applied Sciences currently has 11 ERCs:

Co-operative and Co-Creative Entrepreneurship

Design Methods in Food

Professor:
R.A.M. (Roger) Engelberts /  P.L. (Pierre) van Hedel
R.engelberts@has.nl / p.l.hedel@rn.rabobank.nl

Professor: 
A. (Antien) Zuidberg
A.Zuidberg@has.nl

   

Future Food Systems

Food & Health

Professor:
F.M. (Frederike) Praasterink, MSc
f.praasterink@has.nl

Professor:
A. (Annet) Roodenburg, PhD,
A.Roodenburg@has.nl

   

Green Health

Healthy Farming

Professor:
H.W. (Herman) Peppelenbos, PhD,
h.peppelenbos@has.nl

Professor:
Dr. Ir. (Joost) van den Borne
J.vandenBorne@has.nl

   

Innovative Entrepreneurship in Rural Areas

Location Intelligence

Professor:
D. J. (Daan) Groot / E. (Erwin) van Woudenberg
d.groot@has.nl / e.vanwoudenberg@has.nl

Professor:
Theo Thewessen
Th.Thewessen@has.nl

   

New Business Models for Agriculture & Food Transition

New Cultivation Systems

Professor:
P.J. Beers
P.Beers@has.nl

Professor :
J.A.M. (Jasper) den Besten, MSc,
J.dBesten@has.nl

   

Plant-Soil Health

 
Professor: 
J. (Judith) van de Mortel 
J.vandeMortel@has.nl 
 
   

Sustainable Protein Sources

Precision Livestock Farming

Professor:
Dr. Ir. O. (Olga) Haenen 
O.Haenen@has.nl

Professor :
L. (Lenny) van Erp
L.vanErp@has.nl

   

Protein transition in Food 

Sustainable Production

Professor:
Dr. Ir. F. (Fred) van de Velde
F.vandeVelde@has.nl

Professor:  
Drs. E. (Elies) Lemkes - Straver
E.Lemkes@has.nl

 

 

Discontinued expertise & research centres

AgroFood Marketing
H.L.G.M. (Harry) van Delft
Discontinued 1 January 2019

Business & Enterprise Development
W (Wim) de Koning, BSc, MSc, PhD,
Discontinued 1 September 2018

Innovative Enterprise in Horse Husbandry
J.E.H.M. (Joep) Bartels, MSc,
Discontinued 1 February 2017

Biomimicry
Ylva Poelman
Discontinued 1 January 2017

Sustainable Livestock Farming Chains
J.W.G.M. (Han) Swinkels, PhD,
Discontinued 1 September 2016